Visit NZ

Passports and Visas

All foreign visitors to Gods Own land need a passport, even the asylum seekers. Whether you can enter visa-free or not depends on where you come from, how long you’re staying and what you want to do when you get here.

The need for a visa will be waived if you just want to come here for a holiday for up to three months (UK = six months, lucky buggers!) and you are a citizen of any of the following countries:

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France. Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Korea (South), Kiribati, Lichtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Monaco, Nauru, Norway, Netherlands, Portugal*, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tuvalu, USA**.

*Portuguese passport holders must have the right to live permanently in Portugal.

** Includes US nationals from American Samoa and Swains Island.

In order to qualify for the visa waiver you must:

  • hold a valid ticket to a country to which you have a valid right of entry, and have sufficient money to support yourself during your stay, and
  • hold a passport valid for three months beyond the date you are leaving New Zealand, and
  • only wish to visit NZ for the time granted on arrival (if you wish to visit for a longer period you will have to apply for a Visitor’s Visa).

You can get the official government information at

Leave a Reply